Exceptional Education at the Heart of the Community

Exceptional Education at the Heart of the Community


What is SMSC?  

SMSC stands for spiritual, moral, social and cultural development. All schools in England must show how well their pupils develop in SMSC. 
Spiritual - Moral - Social - Cultural 
Explore beliefs and experience; respect faiths, feelings and values; enjoy learning about oneself, others and the surrounding world; use imagination and creativity; reflect.

At Oasis Blakenhale Infants we have made half termly links to develop SMSC through the International Primary Curriculum (See the IPC overview of the different elements addressed for each year group).  We also address many elements of SMSC through our collective worship, where we regularly hold assemblies based a diverse range of religions and British values. 

We are currently implementing the PATHS programme (Promoting Alternative Thinking Strategies) in PSHE.  The main aims of this programme involves helping children to:

  • recognise emotions and values
  • make constructive choices about personal and social behaviour
  • show understanding and empathy for others

How are the Oasis Nine Habits covered in assemblies?

What religious festivals are covered in assemblies?



How are British Values covered in assemblies?

Find out what is covered in the curriculum for Reception, Year 1 and Year